Staff Council Announces Mentor Award, Book Fund Recipients

At the annual Staff Recognition Ceremony held Dec. 4 at the William Pitt Union, Pitt’s Staff Council awarded its 2018 Staff Mentor Award to Nichole Radulovich, a senior administrator in the Department of Medicine. The award honors a Pitt staff member whose daily work and interactions positively impact others and covers the tuition for the University’s Faculty and Staff Development Program Certificate in Organizational Leadership and Ethics program.

In their nomination of Radulovich, her colleagues noted that “She sees the potential in people, never seems to have a shortage of time to mentor people and has a keen ability to pinpoint individuals’ strengths and weaknesses and connect them with appropriate resources. By investing her time and care in the people she works with, she impacts our lives for the better.”

Four students receive endowed book fund awards

Additionally, four Pitt students who are children of staff members each received a $500 scholarship to be used toward the purchase of books and academic supplies. The recipients of the 2018 Staff Council Endowed Book Fund Award are:

  • Cassandra Colland, a junior studying management and accounting at Pitt–Greensburg, daughter of Ronna Colland, director of finance and risk management, Department of Administrative Services, Pitt–Greensburg
  • Sara Kaemph, a junior studying social work at the Pittsburgh campus, daughter of Carolyn Kaikaka, Office of Student Financial Services
  • Megan A. McKenzie, a junior studying communication science disorders and studio arts at the Pittsburgh campus, daughter of Mark McKenzie, Office of Facilities Management
  • Leigh M. McLinden, a junior studying finance, supply chain management and business information systems at the Pittsburgh campus, daughter of Stacy McLinden, Department of Psychology

Those interested in contributing support to the endowed book fund can do so online at Pitt Giving’s website. In the designation field, enter “Staff Council Endowed Book Fund.”

  • From left are Chancellor Patrick Gallagher, Deborah Whitfield, Staff Council parliamentarian and assistant patient services manager, School of Dental Medicine; Nichole Radulovich, senior administrator, School of Medicine; Brandi McClain, Staff Mentor award co-chair and administrator, Department of Communication; Caitlin McCullough, Staff Mentor award co-chair and content manager, Office of the Dean; Tammeka Banks, Staff Council vice president of finance and department administrator, Office of Research; and Andrew Stephany, Staff Council president and pre-award administrator, Department of Medicine.
  • From left are Andrew Stephany, Staff Council president and pre-award administrator, Department of Medicine; Carolyn Kaikaka, director of operations, Office of the Controller; Sara Kaempf, Leigh McLinden, Stacy McLinden, graduate administrator, Department of Psychology; Erin Golen, Staff Council Endowed Book Fund co-chair and administrative coordinator for office and events management, Dietrich School of Arts and Sciences; Jocelyn Runyon, Staff Council Endowed Book Fund co-chair and research project manager, Department of Plastic Surgery; and Chancellor Patrick Gallagher.